About Khartoum

Khartoum, the capital city and the major trading, financial, and political center of Sudan, is located on the western bank of the Blue Nile and forms a huge triangle with its vertex at the confluence of the two Niles and the base bordering Gezira state, about 30 KM south-eastward.

The climate is mainly tropical. The city was founded in 1823 by Mehmet Ali and strengthened by walls and forts. From 1899 to 1956 Khartoum was capital of the Anglo-Egyptian Sudan and remained capital when Sudan became independent.

Khartoum, together with the two other cities, Khartoum North (commonly known as Bahri) and Omdurman form what is called the Tripartite Capital. The city lies near the rich, irrigated cotton-growing Gezira area to the south, and much of its trade is based on Nile river traffic.

Khartoum is a cosmopolitan city with a good variety of historic attractions, museums, public annual events, and tourist services.

In The City Sudan 2015 ©